Phillip Fulmer Named to SEC Legends Class

Phillip Fulmer Named to SEC Legends Class

Via UT Media Relations

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Tennessee Director of Athletics Phillip Fulmer was announced as part of the 2018 AT&T SEC Football Legends class on Tuesday. The class, an assemblage of former football standouts, will be honored at events surrounding the SEC Football Championship Game in Atlanta in December.

The class will be honored at the 2018 SEC Football “Weekend of Champions” Nov. 30-Dec. 1 in Atlanta, Ga., highlighted by the annual SEC Legends Dinner presented by AT&T on Friday, Nov. 30 at the Hyatt Regency in Atlanta.  The group will also be recognized prior to the SEC Football Championship Game, which will be held at the new Mercedes-Benz Stadium on Saturday, Dec. 1.

Fulmer served as head coach of the Tennessee Volunteers from 1992 to 2008, compiling a 152-52 record while leading the Vols to the 1998 BCS National Championship. Tennessee’s 20th head coach, Fulmer is the second winningest football coach in Tennessee history and the third UT coach to capture a national title. His 1997 and 1998 teams won consecutive SEC Championships, and Tennessee racked up a four-year record of 45-5 from 1995-98. During Fulmer’s collegiate playing career, he was an offensive guard for the Vols from 1969-71. He helped coach Bill Battle’s teams post a 30-5 record during those three seasons and was a member of Tennessee’s 1969 SEC Championship team. Fulmer served as a student coach at UT upon his graduation and later served as a full-time assistant coach for the Vols from 1980-92 before rising to head coach. Fulmer was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2012 and now serves as Tennessee’s Director of Athletics.

The 2018 Football Legends Class includes 14 former stars who excelled on the gridiron and helped write the rich history of the sport at their respective institutions. This year’s class includes All-Americans, All-SEC selections and Academic All-Americans. The group represents teams that won National and SEC Championships and are represented in state, school and college football halls of fame.

Joining Fulmer in the 2018 SEC Legends class are: Shaun Alexander (Alabama), Darren McFadden (Arkansas), Ronnie Brown (Auburn), Lawrence Wright (Florida), Hines Ward (Georgia), Rich Brooks (Kentucky), Ronnie Estay (LSU), Jim Miller (Ole Miss), Mardye McDole (Mississippi State), Devin West (Missouri), Eric Norwood (South Carolina), Pat Thomas (Texas A&M) and Zac Stacy (Vanderbilt).

Tennessee SEC Legends All-Time
1994 – Bob Johnson
1995 – Doug Atkins
1996 – Condredge Holloway
1997 – John Michels
1998 – Richmond Flowers
1999 – Steve Kiner
2000 – Steve DeLong
2001 – Stanley Morgan
2002 – Johnny Majors
2003 – Reggie White
2004 – Frank Emanuel
2005 – Larry Seivers
2006 – Chip Kell
2007 – Willie Gault
2008 – Doug Dickey
2009 – Heath Shuler
2010 – Al Wilson
2011 – Bobby Majors
2012 – Peerless Price
2013 – Inky Johnson
2014 – Todd Kelly
2015 – Chuck Smith
2016 – Deon Grant
2017 – Chad Clifton
2018 – Phillip Fulmer

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *